Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Gent #4 ...

... Gravensteen / Castle of the Counts ... (EN)
by en.wikipedia.org
... The castle served as the seat of the Counts of Flanders
until they abandoned it in the 14th century. ...


... its austere walls and towers loom imposingly
in the north west of the city centre....
(view from St Veerleplein)

... the Fallen Angels Gallery ...
by the-fallen-angels.com
... All kinds of old toys, postcards, dolls, cans, posters
and much, much more ...


... the view of the Graslei and Korenlei opens out.
From the 11th century, they together made up Ghent’s
first trading harbour. The buildings to the
left and right
of the Leie are unique in their timeless beauty.

source: visit gent


The Guild Houses in Ghent along the Graslei are among the most
important
from the renaissance era. The House of Free Boatmen (1531),
the House of Grainweighers (1698), the tiny Custom House (1682),
the Grain warehouse (1200), and the House of Masons (1527).
The grain warehouse from 1200 is one of the oldest
commercial buildings in Belgium ...

source: bc.edu

... a mooring bollard (1861) ...

... One of the few remaining wooden facades can still
be seen from the bridge of the Gravensteen ...


... Groot Vleeshuis / the Butcher's Hall / Meat house ...
by 4.gent.be
... built between 1407 and 1419. Meat houses were covered markets
where sales were centralised in order to check the meat's
freshness and quality.
It is now used as a covered market
for regional tourism and products.
....
source: visit gent

... detail of a bas-relief of St. Michael's bridge ...

... St. Michaels bridge ...

... a weathered bas-relief of a gate over the Leie
detail of St. Michael's bridge in black/white ...


'Het Pand' view from St. Michaels bridge
Het Pand ... (EN)
by ugent.be
... is an old Dominican monastery located in the heart
of the city on the banks of the river Leie, near
the medieval port with the guildhalls as its remnants...

... The "Morisken" dancers by Walter De Buck ...

... The Metselaarshuis (house of the masons’guild) .
The facade of this 16th-century building remained hidden for
a long time behind workman’s houses built at a later date.
Now its singular beauty can be appreciated once again.
And to cap it all, the Ghent sculptor and folk-singer Walter De Buck,
the initiator of the Ghent Festivities, has added six dancing devils
("Morisken" dancers) that appeal to the eye and the imagination...
source: visit gent

... the Saint Nicholas' Church and the Belfry ...
view from St. Michaels bridge

... 'love is universal' graffiti ...

counter